If you closed your account, it will have removed your profile from the app so it will no longer be discoverable in the app.
If you then signed in to check the status, you will have created a new account inside the app.
This is not your old account, it is a new one. You must go through the same Close Account process (My Profile > Settings > Support > Close Account) to delete your account again.
Do not sign in again to check the status as this will create a new account again.